Browsing our collections, but uncertain where to start? Below you will find a random selection of our collections.



Tupper Lake High School Yearbook

Tupper Lake Goff-Nelson Memorial Library

Dates of Original: 1917 - 1988

The Mountain Echo, the Tuhisean, and the Lumberjack are all names which the Tupper Lake High School Yearbook has used.

Explore the Collection >>>

Historic Postcards of East Rockaway, N.Y.

Historical Society of East Rockaway and Lynbrook

Dates of Original: 1900-1970

East Rockaway, an early community on the south shore of Long Island, first appeared as Neare Rockaway in 1665. The Town of Hempstead, at a town meeting held December 28, 1688, granted Joseph Haviland the right to construct a grist mill within one year. If said mill shall be ‘uncapable’ to grind in one year, then ‘streame and Land is to reterne to ye towne againe.’ The Haviland Grist Mill was built in 1689 and became the center of the social, economic and political life of the area. East Rockaway prospered as a seaport with packet boats carrying oyster and farm produce to New York City... Read more

Explore the Collection >>>

The College of Saint Rose Archives - Early CSR History

The College of Saint Rose - Neil Hellman Library

Dates of Original: c. 1930 - 2010

The College of Saint Rose was founded in 1920 by the Sisters of Saint Joseph of Carondelet as a Roman Catholic college for women. Its founders selected the name of Saint Rose to honor the first canonized saint in the Americas. An evening division was developed in 1946 to meet the needs of World War II veterans and, in 1949, a graduate school was added to provide master's degree programs. Men were admitted to both the original evening and graduate divisions, and in 1969 the College became fully co-educational. In 1970, the Board of Trustees was expanded to include laypersons in... Read more

Explore the Collection >>>

Huntington Archives

Huntington Town Clerk's Archives

Dates of Original: 1665-2007

The formal European history of Huntington dates to April 2, 1653 when three English settlers from Oyster Bay—Richard Holbrook, Robert Williams and Daniel Whitehead—secured a deed from Raseokan, Sachem (i.e. leader) of the Matinecocks for six square miles of land stretching from Cold Spring Harbor to Northport Harbor and from the Long Island Sound to what is now Old Country Road. Most of the early settlers were English. They arrived in Huntington by way of Massachusetts and Connecticut. In 1664, the English gained control of the Dutch colony of New Netherland. The Duke of York became... Read more

Explore the Collection >>>